Advertise Free Buzztrader Help Login to Mange Vehicle Ads Place FREE Ads Browse Cars For Sale Search Cars For Sale Newly Listed Cars For Sale Cars For Sale

This domain name "" is For Sale at the asking price of $10,000. Serious inquiries only, call 1.530.600.0564 9-5 PST. Domain Name Only, programming not included. High traffic site, established 2004, unlimited potential. Price is FIRM!

Nissan Cedric / Gloria Wins RJC's "New Car of the Year" and
Nissan Extroid CVT Wins RJC's "Technology of the Year"

On November 15 the test drive session and the final voting of the RJC's New Car of the Year and Technology of the Year of 1999-2000 were held at the Japan Automobile Research Institute in Ibaraki Prefecture.
As a result, Nissan Cedric / Gloria won the "New Car of the Year," and the Extroid CVT installed in the Cedric/Gloria captured the "Technology of the Year."

<The reason : New Car of the Year >
The jury defined the Nissan Cedric/Gloria as a high quality luxury car with cutting edge design. It is a convincing sporty sedan-they judged- with smooth driving performance enhanced by the world first application of the Extroid CVT mated with a large engine.
<The reason : Technology of the Year>
RJC highly appreciated the significance of the commercialization of the Extroid CVT, the revolutionary transmission. Nissan's Extroid CVT is a showcase of the CVT technologies which will lead the new era of powertrain in the 21 century.

The results of the final voting are as follows,

<RJC New Car of the Year>
1. Nissan Cedric / Gloria
2. Toyota Vitz / Platz
3. Honda Insight
4. Mazda MPV
5. Honda S2000
6. Toyota Crown/Majesta/Athlete

<RJC Technology of the Year>
1. Extroid CVT ( Nissan Cedric/Gloria)
2. iMA system ( Honda Insight)
3. 1- litre VVTi engine (Toyota Vitz)
4. Vehicle Distance Control IHCC (Honda Avancia)
5. Open body ( Honda S2000)
6. The Air Filter with Aldehyde Avoiding Function (Mazda Premacy)

<Import Car of the Year>
1. Peugeot 206
2. VW Beetle
3. Jaguar S Type
4. Audi TT Coupe
5. VW Bora
6. Audi S4 Quattro
7. Mercedes Benz S class

Overview of the Cedric / Gloria and Extroid CVT
<Cedric / Gloria>
Ever since the Gloria debuted in 1959 and the Cedric in 1960, these distinguished models have continued to be ardently favored by many customers as premium-quality sedans. The newly released Cedric and Gloria have been developed around the concept of "a new-generation luxury personal sedan that provides fresh excitement every time you see it and drive it."
Since the announcement of the new model last June, Cedric/ Gloria has won high accolades for its cutting edge design, driving performance of the direct injection engine, quietness, high level of environmental friendliness and safety performance.
"Extroid CVT", the world's first CVT that is applicable even to rear-wheel-drive cars fitted with a large engine was adopted on Cedric/Gloria as of November 8 th, and has already gained fame and respect as a breakthrough technology.

<Extroid CVT>
The Extroid CVT adopts an original ratio change method, different from the conventional CVT, whereby the engine's power is transmitted to an input disc, whose rotational motion is transferred to an output disc by means of power rollers. By integrating these cutting-edge technologies, the Extroid CVT achieves unprecedentedly quick ratio change response to deliver an exhilarating feeling of acceleration along with notably quiet, smooth driving performance, in addition to providing exceptionally low fuel consumption, increasing 10% comparing the conventional automatic transmissions.

(Established in 1991, this will be the 9th anniversary)
Official Title: Automotive Researcher & Journalist's Conference of Japan
Award Categories:
-for Japanese cars : The main award named "New Car of the Year"
-Technical Award: "Technology of the Year"
-Award for People: "Person of the Year"
-Imported Car Award: "Imported Car of the Year"
Selection Organization:
Members are selected in two categories and belong to either the Selection Committee or the Research Committee. The Selection Committee members vote for the awards.
[Chairman: Taihei OGUCHI, Dean of Shibaura Institute of Technology]
-Members of the Selection Committee:
Composed of 67 members with only several automobile critics.
The membership includes university professors, lawyers, designers, cameramen and other representatives of various industries.
Main members of the Selection Committee:
Kazuhiko Mitsumoto, Hiroshi Hoshijima, Goro Suzuki and Atsuhiko Okubo
Awards received by Nissan in past years:
The March was selected in 1992 New Car of the Year.
Nissan has not received this award after 1992.